About Debrecen

debrecen_2011.jpegDebrecen is the traditional economic and cultural center of Eastern Hungary. In the 16th century Debrecen became the center of the Reformed Church in Hungary and later it wascalled the "Calvinist Rome". The 17th century was the golden age of the city because it was the mediator between the three parts of the country: the part under Turkish occupation, the Kingdom of Hungary and the Principality of Transylvania. For short periods of time, it served twice as the capital of the country. Nowadays, with its population approximately a quarter of million, it is the second largest city in Hungary.

Debrecen is a unique city without mountains and rivers but its natural environment is very interesting. One of the main attractions and places of natural uniqueness in Hungary is the Hortobágy National Park, known as the "puszta", which lies just in the outskirts of Debrecen. This is the real Hungarian Plain without any height difference, with its unique flora and fauna (e.g., a lot of birds), natural phenomena (e.g., Fata Morgana), and with ancient animal husbandry traditions. The region is unmatched in Europe whether we consider its natural endowments or its historic and ethnographic traditions. A very lovely part of Debrecen is known as a holiday resort with its majestic "Great Forest" (Nagyerdő), its many cultural and tourist establishments and its luxurious thermal baths and spas. The University campus is located here, too.

Brief history

1235. First reference to Debrecen in ancient charters.

1538. Establishment of the College of Reformed Church in Debrecen.

1567. Higher education starts in the College.

1693. Declaration of Debrecen as a free royal town.

1849. Debrecen is the capital of Hungary.

1912. Establishment of the State University of Debrecen with Faculties of Arts, Law, Medicine and Theology.

1914. Some parts of the university are functioning in the building of the College.

1918. Inaugurating the Main Building of the Medical Faculty by King Charles IV. of Hungary.

1921. Medical Faculty is functioning.

1932. Building of the campus is finished.

1944. During the war the town is the capital again but the university was abandoned for a while.

1949. The only year when the university has five faculties.

1950. Faculty of Law idles, Faculty of Science is established.

1951. The university is divided into three parts (Academy of Theology, Medical School, Lajos Kossuth University of Arts and

1991. Debrecen Universitas Association is established.

1998. Federation of Debrecen Universities is founded.

2000. The federation have been transformed into the unified Debrecen University with all the customary faculties and 20 thousand students.